Elizabeth R (3 Disc Box Set) [1971] (DVD) cover image

Elizabeth R (3 Disc Box Set) [1971] (DVD)
Free Gift

  • £10.99
  • Save £19

The complete classic BBC drama miniseries about the life and reign of Elizabeth I, played by Glenda Jackson. From her precarious early days on the throne of England, where Elizabeth has to negotiate a dangerous political climate, to her later relationship with the Earl of Essex (Robin Ellis) and her dealings with Mary Queen of Scots (Vivian Pickles) and the Spanish Armada, the series covers the long and tumultuous period of Elizabethan rule. Also starring Ronald Hines and Robert Hardy. Episodes are: 'the Lion's Cub'; 'the Marriage Game'; 'Shadow in the Sun'; 'Horrible Conspiracies'; 'Enterprise of England'; and 'Sweet England's Pride'. Synopsis Elizabeth R is the Emmy-winning BBC dramatisation of the 45-year reign of Elizabeth I chronicling the British monarch's affairs of state and affairs of the heart. From with her ascendance to the throne, Elizabeth I challenged the status quo, not least by her refusal to marry. Heavily researched and gloriously designed, Elizabeth R is considered by many to be the most factual representation of the life of this truly unique queen. Glenda Jackson gives a regal performance as Queen Elizabeth I, growing from a terrified princess surrounded by treachery to assured monarch and liverish old lady. Robert Hardy and Michael Williams also star.

Running Time: 510 minutes
Region: Region 2 (This DVD may not be viewable outside Europe. Read more about DVD formats.)
Subtitles: English
Release Date: 20 Mar. 2006

We Also Recommend

Segmentify Recommendation Widget

This is a preview of widgets location. Content will be loaded dynamicly and dashed outline will not be visible outside of theme editor.

You can change this widgets style and behavior via Segmentify panel.



Sold Out