Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete (DVD) cover image

Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete (DVD)
Free Gift

  • £19.99
  • Save £25

This lavish period drama tells the story of Eleanor Bramwell (Jemma Redgrave), a pioneering female doctor in the late nineteenth century, and the struggles she has with her friends, her colleagues and society. Determined to take the medical profession out of the dark ages, her strongly held opinions often draw her into conflict with the chief surgeon, a man keener on tradition than he is on progress .Also starring David Calder and Robert Hardy. This box set contains all 4 series, in 27 stunning episodes over 8 discs. Awards Silver Award - Worldfest, Charleston. Silver Spire - Golden Gate Awards, San Francisco. Silver Plaque - The Chicago International Film Festival Reviews "A touch of Gold" - The Observer "Immensely watchable" - Daily Mirror "Has hit written all over it - Daily Telegraph "Classy and stylish" - Time Out Bramwell Series 1 This award-winning series follows the fortunes of Eleanor Bramwell (Jemma Redgrave) who sets her heart and her sights on becoming a leading surgeon - an ambition unheard of for women in Victorian England. Her father Robert (David Calder) would like Eleanor to join him in his respectable private practice but his daughter has plans of her own which take her from the decadent drawing rooms of elite Victorian society to the shocking deprivation of the slums in the East End of London. Eleanor's forward thinking makes her enemies amongst the medical establishment. But her energy and commitment also win her friends. As Eleanor consolidates her professional standing in the hostile medical world, in her private life, she becomes romantically involved with a charismatic Irish physician, a man considered a scheming opportunist by her father. Bramwell is based on fact, and produced with the greatest attention to detail. Eleanor Bramwell is modelled on real doctors, and the stories are drawn from documented cases in the 1890s. The result is a series in the finest tradition of period drama. Bramwell Series 2 A second series of the late Victorian medical drama. With her private practice failing, Eleanor faces tough choices and difficult times ahead, including the surprise arrival of a long-lost relative, the burgeoning of love and an outbreak of the dreaded cholera. Bramwell Series 3 The third installament of the beautiful period drama, with bittersweet stories set in London. Will Eleanor find true love and marraiage? Bramwell Series 4 The final series of Bramwell, with two feature-length episodes uncovering the truths and fictions in Eleanor Bramwell's (Jemma Redgrave) life as she faces up to her true feelings for more than one man and the prospect of an unacceptable pregnancy. Also starring Jenny Agutter and Timothy West.

Running Time: 1364 minutes
Region: Region 2
Subtitles: English
Release Date: 30 Aug. 2010

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review

We Also Recommend

Segmentify Recommendation Widget

This is a preview of widgets location. Content will be loaded dynamicly and dashed outline will not be visible outside of theme editor.

You can change this widgets style and behavior via Segmentify panel.



Sold Out